In 2003, an advertisement in the West Sussex Gazette weekly newspaper advertised a fund for local worthwhile projects from the “Help the Aged's” Citizens' Action Millennium Awards. 

An application was made on behalf of three people who had shown an interest in forming a computer club in our village. They were Ron de Gottal, Alma Barker and Frank James. Sadly we changed the day of our weekly meeting from Wednesday to Thursday to suit the majority and Ron had to give up attending as he was fully occupied on Thursday, so John West took his place as an applicant. 

The club was helped by the Village Hall governing committee, by the Village Council authority, namely the Secretary and the Chairman. The document was supported by the Chairman of our club, Mr. David Hughes. 

We were successful and a total grant of £3,450 was made available and was accepted by the club on 9/10/03. We bought software, computers, a scanner, paid for telephone rental and the rent of the hall. 

Frank James was granted a lifetime membership ot the Millennium Awards Fellowship! 

In August 2004 we made another application for funding to Awards for All. In November 2004 we were awarded £3.983 for a projector, screen, software and replacement monitors. 

In February 2006 we submitted another application for funding to Awards for All. Later that year we were awarded £3,500 which was used to purchase computers, software, monitors, a router and wireless adaptors. 

We are now able to support ourselves financially, due to the large number of members, almost 100 with a current waiting list. 

The original idea was to launch the club with Linux as the operating system, however we had no competent teacher. One of the staff at the local library whispered that there was someone with teaching experience ready and willing to help. This was Paul Knapp, without his help we would have certainly foundered.  He has been our rock from which knowledge has been disseminated, he has always been on hand for help in every way.   

In 2006 Lionel Oddell created the club's website. 

We are, and have been, a Registered Charity since 17th November, 2004.

Registered Charity No. 1106827

The current committee of 12 (including 3 co-opted members), as of January 2016, consists of:

Tony Martin, Geoff Love, Paul Knapp, Lionel Oddell, Patrick Sims, Catherine Pendrill-Cosier, Diana Wood, Brian Ramble, Terry Maslin, Jackie Bush, Graham Holness  Our President Emeritus is Frank James.
We have currently close to 100 members